75394 lego starwars imperial star destroyer 1

Today we are quickly interested in the content of the LEGO Star Wars set 75394 Imperial Star Destroyer, a box of 1555 pieces which will be available via the official online store as well as in LEGO Stores from August 1, 2024 at the public price of €169,99. This product is currently up for pre-order on the official store.

This box finally takes over from the set 75055 Imperial Star Destroyer marketed in 2014, it retains the good ideas, simplifies some finishes and improves the overall appearance of the vessel even if the object this year becomes a little more compact than the version 10 years ago with 48 cm long compared to 58 cm for that of 2014.

LEGO sticks to its dual-scale product concept with an exterior aesthetic convincing enough to allow the thing to be displayed and some internal spaces vaguely in scale with the supplied figures that make this product a rather well-designed playset that will appeal to young fans. Do not look for respect for proportions or the slightest detail in relation to the reference ship seen on the screen, this children's toy has no particular pretensions in this area.

We do not change a winning team, knowing that it is a bonus to the previous version of the same ship, and the internal structure remains solidly reinforced by a few Technic beams, we install a retractable carrying handle which will allow the ship to be moved without having to grasp it by the sides or by the gangway and we add the cabin elements which cover the interior layout which is still empty but spacious enough to install the figurines provided.

75394 lego starwars imperial star destroyer 2

75394 lego starwars imperial star destroyer 12

In terms of functionalities, we will remember the synchronization of the cannons whose orientation changes by pulling or pushing on the outgrowths placed at the rear of the central section of the ship and the two rather well integrated missile launchers which will allow you to shoot down X -wings to draw from those provided in various polybags or from LEGO Star Wars Advent calendars to have a semblance of a space battle on a coherent scale.

The bottom of the ship is flat, playset obliges, and the stability of the thing is therefore maximum. No various and varied refinements like landing gear or a simple support which would have allowed the ship to be stored in suspension between two fun sessions, it's a bit of a shame.

When the sides of the ship are deployed we obtain a large accessible space with some basic installations but ultimately sufficient to have a little fun. The finishing of the premises is more than approximate with beams and blue pines which then become clearly visible but I think that the youngest fans will not hold this against LEGO.

If the surface of the cabin of this Imperial Star Destroyer gains in finish compared to the 2014 version with a little less visible tenons but more relief, the ship loses this year in the level of detail of the reactors by only retaining the blue for the three largest elements and settling for gray rims for the rest.

It's a bit sad as it is, I preferred the finish of the version from 10 years ago on this point. The set obviously does not escape a large sheet of graphically well-executed stickers and the majority of these stickers end up inside the ship.

75394 lego starwars imperial star destroyer 17

The supply of minifigs is substantial and balanced here with seven characters, six of which are really in the theme: Darth Vader, Commander Nahdonnis Praji, an Imperial Gunner, An Imperial Crew Member, an Imperial Navy Trooper and a Stormtrooper. The selection is varied and consistent, we avoid duplication and that's all the better.

Collectors will be happy to be treated to a new clearly identified imperial officer, Praji, even if the character is here adorned with one of the most generic heads in the LEGO inventory. The torso saves the furniture with real attention to detail and all that's missing is a pair of boots on the figurine's slightly too neutral legs for it to be perfect.

The seventh figure, Cal Kestis, is off topic. It is here to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the LEGO Star Wars range with its dedicated display to connect to the other supports delivered this year in a few sets. Video game fans Jedi Star Wars: Fallen Order and its sequel Star Wars Jedi: Survivor will certainly be happy to finally be able to obtain a figurine of the young hero but the character undoubtedly deserved better than this fate as an anniversary minifig by benefiting from a real dedicated set.

Nothing says that this won't be the case one day, but we will have to make do with this minifig while waiting for these very popular video games to finally be entitled to real LEGO derivative products. The minifigure described as exclusive takes one of the many outfits worn by the character in the two opuses of the video game, it is well executed without being flamboyant.

It was time for LEGO to revisit the Star Destroyer, the last similar version of which dates from 10 years ago. Those who never decided to spend €700 on the UCS version of the set 75252 UCS Imperial Star Destroyer finally have here an opportunity to exhibit a model that is certainly less ambitious and detailed but sufficiently credible and which also offers some fun possibilities.

Personally, however, I prefer the version of the set 8099 Midi-Scale Imperial Star Destroyer marketed in 2010, it ignores playability but it does the job as an exhibition product with a really small footprint.

Don't feel obliged to pre-order this product at full price today, there will be something for everyone on August 1st and this box will also, as usual, be quickly available for a little less at retailers. usual resellers like Amazon:

LEGO Star Wars Imperial-Class Star Destroyer - Buildable Starship for Kids, Includes Darth Vader and Cal Kestis Characters - Birthday Gift for Boys and Girls 75394

LEGO Star Wars Imperial-Class Star Destroyer - Buildable Ship for Kids, Includes Darth Vader and Cal Kestis Characters - Gift

amazon
169.99
BUY

Note: The product shown here, provided by LEGO, is as usual involved. Deadline fixed at July 2, 2024 next at 23:59 p.m. Simply post a comment below the article to participate. Your participation is taken into account regardless of your opinion. Avoid “I’m participating” or “I’m trying my luck”, we suspect that this is the case.

40690 lego tribute jules verne books gwp 2024 2 2

Today we take a quick look at the contents of the LEGO set 40690 Tribute to Jules Verne's Books, a small box of 351 pieces currently available from €150 of purchase via the official online store as well as in the LEGO Stores.
I might as well tell you right away, there is nothing new in this box which pays homage to the writer Jules Verne via a half-open book on which we install references to three of his best-known works: a hot air balloon For Five weeks in a Balloon, a train for Around the world in eighty days and a micro version of the Nautilus for Twenty thousand leagues under sea. 

It's rather well executed with a book with a fixed structure but very pleasant to put together and a few micro-constructions which give volume to the staging. Only one sticker in this box, the one that reminds us who it is. And it's useful because the minifigure provided is really very generic. It's not very tasty with a torso having already been used with its flesh-colored hands for two goblins from the Harry Potter universe (76417 Gringotts Wizarding Bank Collectors' Edition et 40598 Gringotts Vault), hair seen and seen again, the head of Gustave Eiffel or Obi-Wan Kenobi as well as a pair of neutral legs.

40690 lego tribute jules verne books gwp 2024 1 2

40690 lego tribute jules verne books gwp 2024 6 2

We are not going to complain about being entitled to a promotional product which offers a bit of a construction challenge, even if we may wonder what to do next with this model which will have to end its career on a shelf lined up alongside other products in the same vein paying homage to famous people: 40291 Creative Storybook (2018) 40410 Charles Dickens Tribute (2020) 40450 Amelia Earhart Tribute (2021) 40530 Jane Goodall Tribute (2022) 40579 Eiffel’s Apartment (2022) or 40595 Tribute to Galileo Galilei (2023)

Do you have to spend the €150 requested by LEGO to get this little box? Nothing is less certain unless your passion for the subject covered or the desire to resell the set later on Vinted to amortize a little the amount spent by purchasing sets at full price on the official online store takes over. . It's up to you, knowing that the secondary market already allows you to afford this little box without having to buy anything else.

This promotional product is offered from June 21 to 23, 2024 for members of the Insiders program, the offer will then possibly be extended until June 30, 2024 for all customers of the official online store and LEGO Stores, there's some left until then.

DIRECT ACCESS TO CURRENT CLASSIFIED ADS ON THE LEGO SHOP >>

Note: The product shown here, provided by LEGO, is as usual involved. Deadline fixed at 30th June 2024 next at 23:59 p.m. Simply post a comment below the article to participate. Your participation is taken into account regardless of your opinion. Avoid “I’m participating” or “I’m trying my luck”, we suspect that this is the case.

76439 lego harry potter ollivanders madam malkins dresses 1

Today we are quickly interested in the content of the LEGO Harry Potter set 76439 Ollivanders & Madam Malkin's Dresses, a box of 744 pieces available since June 1 at the public price of €89,99 on the official online store, in LEGO Stores as well as at most resellers.

You already know, LEGO is therefore going there this year with a playset version of Diagon Alley and this new reference joins the set 76422 Diagon Alley Weasleys' Wizard Wheezes (€94,99) marketed since June 2023. This is indeed a playset for children which is not intended to directly compete with the "collector" version of the set 75978 Diagon Alley (€449,99) launched in September 2020 and still available at LEGO.

There is therefore no point in comparing the two interpretations, they are not aimed at the same audience and do not play in the same league, whether aesthetically or price-wise. That being said, this version with limited ambitions of Diagon Alley will perhaps find its audience among adult fans who have neither the budget nor the space to buy and exhibit the 2020 version, the proposed constructions not being unworthy despite a logical and notable architectural simplification of the different buildings.

If you are looking for absolute fidelity to the constructions seen on the screen, go your way, this product is ultimately only a caricature of the two stores in question of which it only retains the most emblematic attributes. The taller of the two constructions is 20 cm high including the chimney and each of the shops has two connection points on the sides so that everyone can organize their street as they wish.

I find everything quite pleasing to the eye even if the level of detail remains very sketchy in places and LEGO here ignores the roofs with simple facades and fun spaces with very limited depth. The surfaces of the different areas of the two shops are in fact reduced to their simplest expression, especially on the floors, but the essential is there with numerous accessories for Malkin's shop and wands until you drop at Ollivander's.

At the latter, we will remember the mobile shelves which give a little scale to the store when they are deployed and depth to the building when they are closed. It's a detail but I really like the arrangement and stacking of the boxes of wands on the shelves, it's well executed. The ladder provided is mobile, not enough to make it a major feature of the product but it's still a good idea.

76439 lego harry potter ollivanders madam malkins dresses 3

76439 lego harry potter ollivanders madam malkins dresses 8

The interior of the two stores is properly laid out, offering maximum accessibility and a pile of numerous pieces of furniture and other accessories that guarantee a certain playability, imagining that some people would actually want to play with this product. It will feel a bit like we are dealing with a movie set rather than a real street with its shops, but it is at this price that the product remains below the €90 mark without making too many sacrifices on the finish, fittings and number of figurines supplied. everything remains a little fragile during handling, little fingers welcome.

The set does not escape a large sheet of stickers, stickers which are graphically very well executed which really contribute to the overall atmosphere of the place.

The figurines delivered in this box are successful and the equipment seems balanced to me. Harry Potter in this form is a classic in the LEGO inventory already seen in other sets, Padma Patil, which is the second appearance at LEGO after the set version 75981 Advent Calendar 2020, here inaugurates a new color entitled Sienna brown for the head and hands but it reuses a torso already seen in the LEGO Ideas set 21335 Motorized Lighthouse, the "generic" wizard supplied with his wheelchair is adorned with the torso of Pippin seen in the LEGO ICONS set 10316 The Lord of the Rings: Rivendell.

The anonymous witch benefits from a new torso on a somewhat sad skirt and under a hat already seen in the set 76389 Hogwarts Chamber of Secrets and Malkin and Ollivander are provided in never-before-seen outfits. Collectors should therefore largely find what they are looking for in this selection of figurines with at least two street traders including the first appearance at LEGO of Madame Guipure.

We will also note that one of the two mannequins present in Malkin's store, the one on the ground floor, is equipped with a new torso with a generic aesthetic that we will undoubtedly see again in other boxes later.

In my opinion, we can salute the price positioning of the product which makes it accessible to a large number of fans, the essential concessions finding an excuse allowing this box to become a credible alternative to the set 75978 Diagon Alley.

Dividing the street into several boxes spreads the expenditure over time and allows the youngest to replenish their pocket money reserves to be able to return to the cash register, this is well seen. This well-stocked playset also remains a nice exhibition product whose constructions are easily recognizable and identifiable, the compromise therefore seems successful and balanced to me.

Note: The product shown here, provided by LEGO, is as usual involved. Deadline fixed at 27th June 2024 next at 23:59 p.m. Simply post a comment below the article to participate. Your participation is taken into account regardless of your opinion. Avoid “I’m participating” or “I’m trying my luck”, we suspect that this is the case.

10337 lego icons lamborghini countach 5000 quattrovalvole 1

Today we take a quick tour of the content of the LEGO ICONS set 10377 Lamborghini Countach 5000 Quattrovalvole, a box of 1506 pieces which will be available as an Insiders preview at the public price of €179,99 from July 1, 2024 on the official online store as well as in the LEGO Stores before global availability announced for July 4.

First observation and it is important to clarify it without delay: there are no stickers in this box and all the distinctive elements of this vehicle are therefore pad printed, from the dashboard to the notices placed at the rear including the brand logo installed on the front of the hood. The effort is to be commended, as we thus avoid the usual difference in color between the white background of the stickers and the cream color of the parts on which they are placed.

Second good news: the windshield, delivered in Trans Black for the occasion, is provided here in a transparent plastic protective film already seen in other LEGO products, the element is therefore correctly protected from friction with the other parts delivered in the same bag and the one I received was in perfect condition.

The question with the answer that everyone has been asking since the product was announced: the doors hold in place when they are open and at the end of their travel. They come back down if you leave them suspended in the middle of the opening, it's logical and the effect is even a little amusing.

These observations having been made, I think that the experience of assembling this Lamborghini Countach 5000 Quattrovalvole here lives up to the ambitions of the LEGO ICONS range with sections implementing very interesting techniques and a progression which reserves its share of surprises as some of these sub-assemblies seem completely irrelevant until the moment they take place on the body of the vehicle. The 1500 pieces are quickly assembled but the process is in my opinion very satisfying, at least if you like to face a minimum of challenge.

The floor of the vehicle is, as is often the case, based on Technic frames, we then quickly move on to the upholstery, we install the steering made up solely of beams which connects the steering wheel to the front wheels and we finish with the bodywork without forgetting the engine as well as the various openings.

10337 lego icons lamborghini countach 5000 quattrovalvole 11

10337 lego icons lamborghini countach 5000 quattrovalvole 12

The V12 engine remains accessible at the rear just like the front trunk, this is anecdotal on an exhibition model but it is always appreciated for livening up evenings with friends. I say it again, don't spoil the assembly process too much, that's also why we buy this type of set and you can take my word for it when I say that you won't be bored for a second during the few hours that you will spend around the contents of this box.

If basically I don't have much to complain about this construction toy which offers a very convincing experience, I am on the other hand a little less enthusiastic about the finish of the object with in particular some color differences between the pieces all supposed to be the same white but which turn more or less cream depending on their shape and size. This mix of colors is visible in certain lighting, some will be more sensitive to it than others.

We can also quibble about the overall aesthetic of the construction but I think LEGO is doing quite well here with an immediately recognizable vehicle even if it makes some concessions on the proportions, certain angles and the overall look of the vehicle. The essential is there, but we can, for example, remain a little cautious about the wheel arch cladding which has a little difficulty blending into the rest of the bodywork or about the very flat side of the vehicle's sides.

The Lamborghini Countach 5000 Quattrovalvole is certainly an angular vehicle but it does not ignore a few curves and we once again reach the limitations of the LEGO system here. It is up to everyone to see whether this observation is blocking the acquisition of this novelty or whether it is appropriate not to take this Lamborghini for a simple model and admit that it must be considered as an interpretation with LEGO sauce. of the reference vehicle.

The rear lights are massive on the LEGO version, perhaps a little too much compared to the reference vehicle but it is also at this price that they are detailed and ingeniously designed to produce the desired effect. At the front, it's successful, the headlights are well executed and the trunk is easily accessible by pressing on the central part to tilt the mobile section.

On the tire side, we can also discuss the designer's choice to combine two tires with their respective (and different) rims at the rear to obtain a width symbolizing the unusual dimension of these tires on the reference model and credibly embody and marked the gap with those placed at the front.

The solution will probably seem ingenious for some, rather lazy for others, I am one of those who would have liked LEGO to split real tires adapted so as not to have the impression that the solution used is economical even if it is visually acceptable.

10337 lego icons lamborghini countach 5000 quattrovalvole 13

10337 lego icons lamborghini countach 5000 quattrovalvole 14

The new rims are successful, be careful those placed at the front are mounted in reverse order so that the wheels do not extend out of the way. I would have liked white rims for an even more vintage look, we will do with this metallic appearance which remains very correct.

Finally, we can also discuss the choice of white for the bodywork of this Lamborghini Countach 5000 Quattrovalvole, even if this color is sufficiently emblematic for this version of the vehicle, with junctions between the parts which produce a shadow effect and which create a "mosaic" capable of visually distracting fans of accomplished models.

I think the effect remains discreet from certain angles, it is more noticeable in certain lighting, for example in profile at the level of the doors. The interior is, in my opinion, rather successful with upholstery in the usual format and a nicely executed dashboard which uses a pad-printed part. Too bad for the steering wheel which ends up on the driver's lap.

In terms of integrated features, we will inevitably regret the absence of the retractable headlights, which are nevertheless emblematic of this vehicle. The LEGO version would have gained some character and we would almost have forgiven the somewhat unsightly gap between the wings and the front hood.

You may be thinking that I am being a little too demanding and that this brick representation of the vehicle requires some compromises. You are probably right, but I can't help but think that at €180 for a large handful of white bricks, I have the right to have a critical look at the designer's work.

For lack of anything better, the choice of a darker color would undoubtedly have made it possible to visually remove the pill from a few risky angles by drowning them in the mass. In white and with the reflections linked to the edges of the pieces, these defects really stand out.

The fact remains that this Lamborghini Countach 5000 Quattrovalvole in LEGO version does not in my opinion embody the worst of what LEGO has been able to offer in this range of exhibition vehicles and that it will still deserve your attention if you collect these vehicles and one day find it a little cheaper elsewhere than at LEGO.

Note: The product shown here, provided by LEGO, is as usual involved. Deadline fixed at 24th June 2024 next at 23:59 p.m. Simply post a comment below the article to participate. Your participation is taken into account regardless of your opinion. Avoid “I’m participating” or “I’m trying my luck”, we suspect that this is the case.

76270 lego dc batman mech armor 1

Today we take a very quick look at the contents of the LEGO DC set 76270 Batman Mech Armor, a small box of 140 pieces sold at the public price of €14,99 since June 1 and which further expands the concept of mech piloted by people who in principle do not really need it.

This is also a little less true for Bruce Wayne than for example for Spider-Man or Hulk, Batman not having any superpowers strictly speaking. We can therefore say that this armor is just one more element within the technological paraphernalia at the service of Gotham City's vigilante. It's a bit far-fetched but it's reassuring.

That being said, the product, a dozen centimeters high, certainly does not work miracles but it still offers a certain playability with a few well-placed joints, a Stud Shooter on the right hand and a maxi-Batarang in the left hand.

In terms of points of articulation, the construction is mobile at the shoulders, hips, thighs and feet. The knees are fixed as always on this type of product. The ball joints are discreet since they necessarily match the color of the rest of the construction, once in a while this is the case and it is appreciable.

It's very quickly assembled but it's more than enough to have a little fun and get a Batman minifigure in the process. The hands often have only four fingers, we will especially note the presence of a "jetpack" in the back of the mech with a "cape" in two parts, it is aesthetically very appropriate and this mech differentiates itself in this way a little of its congeners.

76270 lego dc batman mech armor 4

76270 lego dc batman mech armor 6

The figurine delivered in this box is far from being new, the torso has already been delivered in a good dozen sets since 2012, the mask with integrated white eyes has been supplied in half a dozen boxes since 2023 and the head delivered here is also that of Draco Malfoy, Druig (The Eternals), Shang-Chi or even Happy Hogan and Kaz Xiono (Star Wars Resistance). No reason to get up at night or rush to your toy store.

For those wondering, the Tile round displaying the logo placed on the front of the cockpit is pad printed, no stickers in this small box. It is not exclusive to this set because it is also delivered in the set 76272 The Batcave with Batman, Batgirl and the Joker (€34.99), but this product is the cheapest of the two to obtain it.

We're not going to talk for hours about this little set without any major pretensions, it will easily find its audience among the youngest fans of the DC universe. However, we will wisely wait for a reduction at Amazon or elsewhere before giving in, I am not sure that the whole thing is worth spending around fifteen euros on.

 

LEGO Superheroes DC Batman Robot Armor - Superhero Toy for Kids - Collectible XXL Figure and Minifigure - Creative Gift Idea for Boys and Girls Ages 6 and Up 76270

LEGO Superheroes DC Batman Robot Armor - Superhero Toy for Children - XXL Figure and Minifigure to Collect - Creative Gift Idea

amazon
14.74
BUY

 

Note: The product shown here, provided by LEGO, is as usual involved. Deadline fixed at 21th June 2024 next at 23:59 p.m. Simply post a comment below the article to participate. Your participation is taken into account regardless of your opinion. Avoid “I’m participating” or “I’m trying my luck”, we suspect that this is the case.

Update : The winner was drawn and notified by email, his nickname is indicated below.

Lami - Comment posted the 21/06/2024 at 18:14